India News

Karnataka Assembly Election 2018: 56% Voting Till 3 Pm

Voting for the Karnataka assembly elections commenced today at 7 am and continue till 6 pm in the evening. The ruling Congress in Karnataka alleged that Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) had malfunctioned in parts of the state as voting took place across 222 constituencies on Saturday. Voting was delayed for two hours at a polling booth in Banahatti, allegedly because the voting machine was faulty.

In the 2013 assembly elections, the voting percentage was 71.45%. Over the last three elections, the voting percentage has averaged 67.1%. Bengaluru saw the lowest voting percentage with 40%; Ramanagara district’s 64% voter turnout was the highest till 3pm. Voting is being held in 222 of the 224-member Karnataka Assembly after elections countermanded in two constituencies. While 2,948 candidates had contested the 2013 polls, almost 2,600 candidates are in the fray for 2018 Assembly polls i Karnataka.

Ex-Congressman, BJP leader SM Krishna casts his vote.

Speaking to ANI, he said, “People have decided and are mentally prepared to bless the JD(S) in the election. We will surprise everyone on May 15.”

When asked about various poll surveys predicting wins for the Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and a fractured mandate, Kumaraswamy rejected them by saying, “There will be a total U-turn. I am confident that I will become the Karnataka Chief Minister.”


Siddaramaiah casts vote in Chamundeshwari constituency.

From all-women managed ‘Pink Booths’ to the use of third generation Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), the Assembly elections in Karnataka are marked by several firsts. The country’s IT hub saw electoral authorities initiate a slew of initiatives targeting a voting percentage of 75.

After six hours of voting, Bengaluru Urban record the lowest voter turnout at 28 percent while Dakshina Kannada was the highest at 47 percent.

Voters in Ramanahalli village.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Our YouTube ChannelOur Facebook PageOur Twitter PageOur LinkedIn PageOur Instagram PageOur Whatsapp NumberYour Idea